International Conference on Theory and Practice of Electronic Governance concludes in Tallinn

The 5th International Conference on Theory and Practice of Electronic Governance, ICEGOV2011, took place in Tallinn, Estonia from 26 to 28 September 2011. The conference was organized under the patronage of the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communication of the Republic of Estonia, by: e-Governance Academy, Estonia; Center for Technology in Government, University at Albany, USA; and Enterprise Estonia; in collaboration with the UNU-IIST Center for Electronic Governance as the founder and coordinator of the ICEGOV series. 

ICEGOV2011 was attended by 506 participants from 65 countries and economies, with ministers, ambassadors, directors, managers, professors, lecturers, doctoral students, journalists and others in attendance. Continuing the ICEGOV tradition, ICEGOV2011 featured a rich academic, capacity-building and network-building program comprising: 5 keynote lectures, 5 panel discussions, 6 general and 6 e-Estonia-focused tutorials, 5 thematic sessions, 6 regional sessions, 11 paper sessions, poster session and doctoral colloquium. 

Electronic Governance for Sustainable Development Tutorial
One of the tutorials, Electronic Governance for Sustainable Development (EGOV4SD), was delivered on the first day of the conference following the keynote lecture by the Estonian President Toomas Hendrik Ilves (click to read more). The tutorial was prepared by Tomasz Janowski in collaboration with Adegboyega Ojo and Elsa Estevez, all from the UNU-IIST Centre for Electronic Governance, and Maria Wimmer from the University of Koblenz-Landau. 
In addition to the invited contributions, ICEGOV2011 issued an open call for research papers, case studies, short case studies and posters. In response, 127 submissions were received from 46 countries. After an anonymous peer-review process carried out by the members of the international program committee, at least three reviews were obtained for each submission as a basis for acceptance decisions. All accepted submissions were included in the conference proceedings published by ACM Press and presented in 11 papers sessions. Authors of selected papers and case studies were also invited to submit extended versions of their submissions to appear in the special issue of the Government Information Quarterly journal, published by Elsevier.
Next ICEGOV conference in Albany, U.S.
The closing session included the announcement of the best paper awards in three categories: 1) theory – the submission that makes the best contribution to building Electronic Governance theory, 2) practice – the submission that presents the most innovative Electronic Governance initiative, and 3) theory and practice – the submission that best links Electronic Governance theory and practice. Next ICEGOV conference will take place in Albany, U.S., from 22 to 25 October 2012, to be organized by the Centre for Technology in Government, University at Albany. 
ICEGOVE website:
More information about the keynote lecture delivered by the Estonia President Toomas Hendrik Ives is available here. 

ICEGOV series: 
The ICEGOV series focuses on the use of technology to transform relationships between government and citizens, businesses, civil society and other arms of government. The series looks beyond the traditional focus on technology-enabled transformation in government towards new forms, new paradigms, and new foundations for technology-enabled governance, collaboration and sustainable development. Each conference provides a platform for discussion and experience-sharing between researchers from informatics, public administration, political science, sociology, economy and other disciplines; and policy makers, solution developers and other stakeholders of technology-enabled governance. Previous editions of the conference took place in Macao (ICEGOV2007), Cairo (ICEGOV2008), Bogota (ICEGOV2009) and Beijing (ICEGOV2010).
UNU contribution:
UNU contributed to ICEGOV2011 through the coordination function for the ICEGOV series, and concrete program contributions by the UNU-IIST Centre for Electronic Governance and its staff:
  • Tomasz Janowski
    ICEGOV series founder and coordinator, member of the ICEGOV2011 Steering and Programme Committees, co-organizer of the EGOV4SD – Electronic Governance for Sustainable Development tutorial, and moderator of the Future Electronic Governance keynote and panel;
  • Elsa Estevez
    ICEGOV2011 Programme Committee Co-Chair, contributor to the EGOV4SD tutorial and co-organizer of the doctoral colloquium
  • Adegboyega Ojo
    member of the ICEGOV2011 Awards and Programme Committees, co-organizer of the Smart City session and contributor to the EGOV4SD tutorial; and
  • Zamira Dzhusupova
    member of the ICEGOV2011 Programme Committee and paper session chair.